Year Zero

A lot of people are cynical about the idea of New Year’s Resolutions.  After all, if you want to be a better person, then you can make this decision at any time.  But still, I think the New Year is an ideal time to reflect on your life and give yourself a (relatively) fresh start – you have just had the Christmas period, you are anticipating going back to work, and you have had the quiet time to think about a new direction.

So here are my New Year’s resolutions for 2015:

Vegetarianism (sort of)

When my vegan friend stayed with me recently, a curious thing happened; I actually saved money on food, even though I was cooking for the two of us.  Seriously, I couldn’t believe how far £10 went.  Plus it’s always good to get more fruit and veg into one’s diet.  So I will be cooking vegetarian food during the week, and perhaps treating myself to meat at the weekend.

As much as I love eating meat, I think the vegetarian direction will be a fun challenge for my cooking skills, too.  I am already thinking of making my own falafel and veggie curries.

Exercise

As per my previous post, it’s occurred to me that something has to give, as I just don’t have time to plough through the mountain of work dumped on me by my predecessor AND hit the gym three times a week, allowing for 48 hour recovery periods.  Additionally, I may struggle to get the protein and calories I need from fruit and veg alone.  But I do love the gym, and even if I continue to lose weight at least I will be able to retain some muscle mass instead of becoming skinny fat.  I will therefore hit the gym twice a week rather than three times; this means I only need to find one evening for it during the week, and then I can go once more at the weekend.  Cutting down by just one session makes it a lot more manageable.

Budgeting

I have resolved to stick to a strict budget and monitor my spending.  This will partly be achieved through my vegetarian diet, but I will also get into the habit of taking cash out at the start of the week.  That way, I can monitor my spending on the go and intercept the temptation to buy cups of coffee or other pick-me-ups here and there.

Reciprocity

This is a policy I have already started implementing, as per a previous blog post, but I am determined not to let others drag me down this year.  In particular, I am determined not to waste my energy on people who do not make an effort with me.  I can argue with them until I am blue in the face and it won’t make a blind bit of difference.  The new rule is, if you mess me around, you’re gone.

Leave a Reply

