The Road Ahead

As I write this, I’m aware that I’m up far too late.  I was just going to turn in after a House of Cards session (God that show’s addictive!), but then I had a flash of inspiration regarding my difficulties with dating.

A couple of weeks ago, one of my best friends drove up to Manchester with me to visit another best friend of ours.
The journey up to Manchester took several hours, but it was a lot of fun.  We hadn’t seen each other in months, but as always, it felt like only five minutes had passed.  We had a great time blasting out some music, telling crude jokes and reminiscing about the old days, but also catching up on where we were now in our lives.

Now imagine how it would have gone if we’d had a futuristic teleporter rather than a car.  As fun as the car journey was, neither of us would have chosen it over the option of simply teleporting to Manchester in an instant.

My perspective on relationships is like that.  And to be honest, I think this may be where I’m going wrong most of the time.

Most people want the car journey.  I want the teleporter.  From their perspective, the journey is half the fun and I’m spoiling it like the annoyingly impatient kid in the back seat who constantly says “are we there yet”, whereas I don’t get why they are deliberately choosing to make the journey take longer than it has to.

Maybe the way forward is to be more patient.

Leave a Reply

